Preparing to join the Rotto Rats
I'm on leave and getting ready to go to Rottnest Island for a few days. I'm now in my nervous pre-travel panic. I haven't stayed at the Lodge on Rotto before and know the place has had a few negative reviews. I'm just hoping they read my note about "please put me somewhere quiet."
Everywhere on Rotto is expensive in comparison with the mainland and I couldn't afford the really good-looking place. Good looking but oddly lacking in facilities. A couple of others have not yet opened/are being renovated now. All the units/chalets are designed for groups and I didn't want somewhere I'd be rattling around in.
So, folks, please tell me everything will be all right, even if you know nothing about Rottnest :-)
For overseas peeps; its real name is Wadjemup and it's a windy, sandy little island visible from the mainland. It has great beaches/places to swim. And very few vehicles. It is the home of the quokka, of which I will take pictures. There's no way I will be unable to take pictures of quokkas, who for generations have made a life's work of shaking down visitors for treats. Centuries ago, Dutch sailors thought they were big rats, hence they gave the island its European name, which is Dutch for Rats' Nest.
I've been visiting it at least since I was 13 and since I'm now 57, that's a fair while. I've asked my mother if she can remember any earlier trips but she can't, not exactly a surprise. She probably doesn't remember that one, which was me alone, having a nightmare experience best described as the Australian version of Summer Camp.
I certainly went early enough to ride the Temeraire II ferry (and throw up on it, which is practically a rite of passage) and am so, so glad that boats like that are no longer in service here. I don't even need medication to ride the current ferries!
More later after I get there.
Everywhere on Rotto is expensive in comparison with the mainland and I couldn't afford the really good-looking place. Good looking but oddly lacking in facilities. A couple of others have not yet opened/are being renovated now. All the units/chalets are designed for groups and I didn't want somewhere I'd be rattling around in.
So, folks, please tell me everything will be all right, even if you know nothing about Rottnest :-)
For overseas peeps; its real name is Wadjemup and it's a windy, sandy little island visible from the mainland. It has great beaches/places to swim. And very few vehicles. It is the home of the quokka, of which I will take pictures. There's no way I will be unable to take pictures of quokkas, who for generations have made a life's work of shaking down visitors for treats. Centuries ago, Dutch sailors thought they were big rats, hence they gave the island its European name, which is Dutch for Rats' Nest.
I've been visiting it at least since I was 13 and since I'm now 57, that's a fair while. I've asked my mother if she can remember any earlier trips but she can't, not exactly a surprise. She probably doesn't remember that one, which was me alone, having a nightmare experience best described as the Australian version of Summer Camp.
I certainly went early enough to ride the Temeraire II ferry (and throw up on it, which is practically a rite of passage) and am so, so glad that boats like that are no longer in service here. I don't even need medication to ride the current ferries!
More later after I get there.

no subject
no subject
Good point. I could in fact take my noise-cancelling headphones. I got them for work, since the ones work provided were not effective enough, IMO, but also use them at home when neighbour noise is bad. I put the note in "special requests" on the booking form so hopefully they paid attention.
no subject
no subject
no subject
Great, thank you, you're the first person I know who has stayed there. Didn't realise!
I'm counting up all my electronics I'm bringing (g). Oh well, didn't mean to rough it.
no subject
no subject
They're next to Subway and are a far better choice. :-)
no subject
Several quokkas spotted already, including a mother and baby, being taught the art of the scrounge.
no subject
no subject
Quite windy, probably a bit cooler than the mainland. Not warm enough to swim IMO but am going to give that a go tomorrow. Scoped out the Basin (making sure I remembered how to get there from here) and can show you that new resort; it's practically on top of it. I wandered through and had a look. I've possibly had enough outdoors for a bit; already spent more time in it than usual! Got hat and suncream but still feeling it.
I made one error with my dates. General school holidays are indeed over but there are plenty of private school escapees over here today. *Tomorrow* they get locked up! I should have remembered that, having been one for some of my time.
no subject
Little Salmon Bay also a good bet for a swim if you want to ride or bus there.
What it all depends on is where the wind is coming from - there's always somewhere with a calm beach - you just go to the opposite side of the island to where the wind is coming from. The guy at the general store is good for where's good to swim at any given moment. :-)
no subject